The Third Monument

of the French people in Mauthausen

 

A long and meticulous work comes to an end which makes it possible to give access to a thorough and comprehensive record of cases of the French people who have been deported to Mauthausen and who have, at some time, stayed at the camp. Tribute has to be paid to all those who – some of them have died along the way, therefore having no knowledge of the conclusions of this complex and exacting task – those who have worked within their “Amicale”, years on end, collecting existing registers, authenticating each name, reference number and trace. Not only did the task consist in thesaurizing facts and elements but also in making sense of them : each list holds in store a number of enigmas which the survivors only are able to decypher. Merely by confronting their own awareness – one inexpressible to historians – with computer scientists’s experience can we ensure whether our work has reached its aim.

A third monument : it ranks behind the French monument in Mauthausen which was erected on one of the terraces where the SS confinement area was situated, besides, it was the first one to be built among the national Austrian monuments (1949) ; it also comes next to the monument in the Père Lachaise cemetery in Paris (1958). Immaterial as it is, and though an authentic memorial, laden with both a symbolic and emotional potential which goes far beyond a mere documentary interest and which was meant, undoubtedly, to be more precious than granite to each family’s heart, among those who have had to partake in this moment of history. A memorial as well which would actually feed a global memory, together with the knowledge of Mauthausen in the present times and in the years ahead of us.

Better than any book in so far as it is within reach for anyone, wherever one is ; virtual, yet made concrete, knowledgeable and interactive, this thesaurus of information is made accessible on line, and each and everyone can either peruse it or simply flock through it at will – it responds to the inquiries of individual families, the concerns of researchers, the curiosity of teachers or students and the quest of those people with a moral desire to know. The individual file for each deportee traces back his/her route since his/her first place of detention. In the long run and progressively each stage will be accompanied and illustrated by sound and visual elements to inform about the background where one was placed. It will be as carefully documented as possible, yet liable to be amended or completed if need be – unsusceptible though to suffer from any undesirable break-ins.

In favour of a global memorial of the detainees of Mauthausen, on the scale of the European continent – and even beyond! – the French initiative is but a first stone. Far from obliterating it, it appeals to this major human reality : the fraternal bond between the French deportees and all their comrades who were torn out of other territories – together with, as far as the French Amicale is concerned, a particular salute to the Spaniards, almost all of them having been deported from the French territory, and where, for the large majority of those who have survived, they could only come back to establilsh themselves. Regarding the ones and the others, their history will have been written under different circumstances and at different rythms, and the task has not yet been completed. There is no history of the camps which is not the history of the people. One day, we will have at our disposal a complete panorama of the massive deportations achieved by the Nazis in the entire space they dominated. Mauthausen (the railway station, the fortress, the network of satellite camps), was one of the terminals of this geography of servitude and death.

Daniel SIMON
President, Amicale de Mauthausen

Le Troisième Monument

des Français déportés à Mauthausen

 

Un long travail de recherche trouve ici son accomplissement : la mise à disposition du répertoire aussi complet et détaillé que possible des Français déportés à Mauthausen ou passés par Mauthausen. Hommage soit rendu à l’équipe de ceux – beaucoup sont aujourd’hui décédés, sans avoir connu l’aboutissement de ce chantier complexe, moralement pénible – qui, au sein de leur Amicale, des années durant, des décennies même, ont préservé, collationné les registres existants, authentifié chaque nom, matricule et parcours. Non seulement il fallut compiler, mais interpréter : chaque liste contient des énigmes, que les rescapés sont seuls à pouvoir décrypter. La conjonction de leur savoir irremplaçable avec les exigences des historiens et les outils des informaticiens signe la réussite de l’œuvre réalisée.

Troisième monument : après le Monument français de Mauthausen, premier construit en Autriche (1949) sur l’une des terrasses où se trouvait le cantonnement SS, occupées aujourd’hui par l’ensemble des monuments nationaux ; et cinquante ans après celui du cimetière du Père-Lachaise à Paris (1958). Voici un monument immatériel, pour autant un authentique mémorial, dont la charge émotionnelle et symbolique dépasse l’intérêt documentaire, et plus précieux sans doute que le granit pour chaque famille que cette histoire traverse, comme pour la constitution de la mémoire globale et de la connaissance de Mauthausen, dans le présent et pour l’avenir.

Mieux qu’un livre, car accessible à tous et de partout, virtuelle mais sensible, savante et interactive, cette somme est offerte en ligne à la consultation la plus large et la plus fine – aux requêtes des familles, aux investigations des chercheurs, aux sollicitations des enseignants et des élèves, aux injonctions de la conscience. La fiche individuelle de chaque déporté retrace son parcours depuis son lieu de première détention. A terme et progressivement, chaque étape fera l’objet d’une documentation sonore et visuelle illustrant le contexte où chacun fut placé. Aussi complet qu’il est possible, le fichier restera accessible à d’éventuelles corrections et enrichissements.

En faveur d’un mémorial global des détenus de Mauthausen, à l’échelle du continent européen – et au-delà même ! – l’initiative française n’est qu’une première pierre. Loin de l’occulter, elle en appelle à cette réalité humaine majeure : le lien fraternel entre les déportés français et tous leurs camarades arrachés à d’autres territoires – avec, s’agissant de l’Amicale française, un salut particulier aux Espagnols, presque tous embarqués depuis la France, et qui, pour la grande majorité d’entre ceux qui avaient survécu, ne purent que revenir y vivre. Des uns et des autres, l’histoire se sera écrite dans des conditions et à des rythmes différents, et la tâche n’est pas terminée. Pas d’histoire des camps qui ne soit aussi celle des hommes. Nous disposerons un jour d’un panorama complet des déportations massives opérées par les nazis dans tout l’espace qu’ils dominèrent. Mauthausen (la gare, la forteresse, le réseau de camps annexes), fut l’un des terminaux de cette géographie de l’asservissement et de la mort.

Daniel SIMON
Président de l’Amicale de Mauthausen
novembre 2007